RSS Feed

Banana Nut Bread

Have you ever had one of those foods that is just perfect? You wouldn’t want to change it for anything and it’s entirely satisfying without being overwhelming or something that takes getting used to it’s just good and familiar and well…perfect for what it is, yes perfect. I think I said that.

Well here it is – delicious, mild, familiar, fantastic in every way: Banana Nut Bread.

what, you don’t agree?

wellp…sorry but this post is all about Banana Nut Bread and how much I love it, so if you love it too you should get excited because I’ve come up with a recipe that is unmatched (in my experience) with any other banana bread recipe I have had. But I am biased since it’s my own recipe.

To start out you need some very over-ripe bananas. I had four sitting on my counter so that’s what I based the recipe on. Peel the bananas and

mash this up with a spoon until they look something kind of like the picture shown below.

Don’t worry about getting all of the chunks out, they are part of the magic.

Add to the mashed (but not over-mashed) bananas 2 sticks of softened butter and cream them together until you have an odd lumpy mixture. From there individually stir in 2 tsp of vanilla extract, 2 cups of sugar, 1tsp of salt,3 cups of flour, 1 tsp of baking powder, a splash of milk, and 2 eggs.If you’d like you can also add some chopped walnuts, chocolate chips, or both if you’d like to get really crazy.


Make sure everything is well mixed and from there pour the mixture into a greased loaf pan and bake for 30-40 minutes until the bread is dark brown. I know you’ll want to take it out before it’s done, the bread browns very quickly but don’t! I started checking on it after it started to look a little over done and super brown. You can check the bread with a knife or fork to make sure it’s done.

With this recipe I made 2 large loaves and 2 mini loaves but you can very easily cut the recipe in half and make one loaf plus some muffins!

I hope you have tons of fun baking this super delicious bread.  Also….when you are about to enjoy your fantastic bread keep in mind that it

gets better the longer you let it sit. if you can stand leaving it wrapped up for 24 hours before you try it (I certainly can’t) you will not be sorry!

xo

– Trish

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

