RSS Feed

Black Bean Soup

I don’t know about you but soup is one of those foods that sounds good pretty much all the time. I’m almost always in the mood for soup and I love looking around to see if I could make some sort of soup just from whatever I have in the pantry at any given time. Basically – soup is good food.

This black bean soup is flavorful and scrumptious, not to mention super healthy and incredibly easy to make.

Black Bean Soup: makes about 4 servings

You’ll Need: 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, about a 3rd of a medium-size white onion (more or less depending on your preferences. I almost always cut down the amount of onion called for in a recipe) roughly chopped, 1 1/2 tablespoons of minced garlic, 16 ounces of vegetable stock, 2-3 cans of drained black beans (I had two different types of black beans, one larger can and one smaller), salt, pepper, ground cumin, and chili powder (add all spices to taste. If your like me I add just enough chili powder to give it a subtle kick, a little salt and pepper just to bring out the flavor of the beans, and a lot of cumin! I just really love cumin, it’s probably my favorite spice. more cumin = more delicious.

In a medium size pot heat the vegetable oil. Add onion and garlic and let them simmer (stirring frequently) until the onions are translucent. To that  slowly stir in your vegetable stock then let it stand until it is almost boiling. Add the black beans and seasoning. Stir the soup for about a minute, then cover and let simmer for about 10 minutes and you’re done! You have some extremely yummy and easy black bean soup not to mention vegan, unless you add sour cream and a little bit of cheese like I did.

Enjoy!

– Trish

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

