RSS Feed

Recipe: Simple Sweet Scones

Sometimes I just really get a craving for scones with tea. I don’t know what it is, possibly fond memories of drinking tea with a friend, but tea and scones are just comforting and full of good thoughts for me. The first time I made scones was in Kentucky with a friend while taking a trip a couple years ago and since then I’ve often decided to make them to have with tea and brunch with friends or make extras to put in gift baskets. They are one of those super easy and completely versatile treats – sweet or savory the scone is downright good.

You’ll need: 2 cups of flour, 3/4 cup of sugar, 3 teaspoons of salt, 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder, 4 tablespoons of butter, 2 tablespoons of shortening, 1 egg, 1/2 cup of cream.

Mix together the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder then cut in the butter and shortening and knead the mixture together. In a small bowl mix together the cream and egg and add them slowly to the rest of the mix. Continue to stir in the cream-egg mix until you get a nice dough (you may not need to add all of the cream)

From there you are pretty much done, you can add any type of fruit or goodies you’d like to your scones. I made some plain and some with dried cranberries (my favorite are plain scones with butter and honey…sooo good!)

I got a little hands-on and free formed the shape of my scones but you could cut them out like biscuits if you’d like.

Finally – Place your scones on a cookie sheet and bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes then eat them while they’re still warm!

Well, that’s all for now. I hope your Tuesday is full of baking and at least a little relaxing.

– Trish

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

