RSS Feed

Homemade Graham Crackers

I had never really thought to try making graham crackers before because it seemed like one of those things that you’d need special flour for or something that you would need to follow a recipe for instead of free form baking, which is what I typically do, but I was entirely wrong (no surprise there). These were so simple to make and they’re kind of delightful little crackers not to mention they are vegan…unless you make honey grahams which I’m dying to try!

Here’s the recipe:

2 3/4 cups of flour, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon (I used a whole teaspoon) – mix these ingredients together in a medium-sized bowl and set aside. Head over to your stand mixer or a larger bowl and handheld mixer and add 2/3 a cup of brown sugar and 1 stick of softened butter to the bowl. Whip them together until the are a sugary paste then slowly add in your dry flour mix and 1/2 a cup of water until you have yourself a nice looking dough. You’ll want to refrigerate the dough for 30minutes to an hour because when you start working with it it warms up in a second and becomes kind of sticky. Once you’ve let your dough chill form it into graham-cracker-like rectangles, I did not have an appropriate cookie cutter so I sort of free handed mine.

Bake your crackers at 350 for 15-20 minutes until they are brown and crisp. Once you remove them from the oven score them immediately with a fork and then allow them to cool for a bit before you enjoy them with milk. That’s all! See…how easy was that?

A few things I would try if I made them again – I would add a bit of white sugar to the mix. I might sprinkle them with a sugar-cinnamon blend right before baking. I’d omit the cinnamon and add a couple tablespoons of honey to make honey grahams. I’d try making chocolate grahams with cocoa powder.

I hope you have a sweet saturday!

xo

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

