RSS Feed

Recipe: Stuffed Peppers

Lets talk about peppers…I love them. On pizza, in pasta, baked into bread, made into salad dressing, with chocolate, you name it. Peppers is good food, yeah, I just said peppers is good food except for green bell peppers which make me sick for some reason….but anyway, we currently have a huge bag of these sweet peppers at my house and I’m pretty much putting them in everything so I thought I’d share a recipe with you for some yummy stuffed peppers.

You’ll need: 4 peppers cut in half (if you’re using traditional bell peppers just cut the top off and you’ll also want to double the filling recipe since they have a lot more room for filling), 5 button mushrooms diced, 1/2 a zucchini diced, 1/4 a cup of feta cheese, 3/4 a cup of breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of butter, and some herbs if you’d like (I used a pre-mixed Italian seasoning).

Place your peppers neatly on a cookie sheet and brush them with the olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper (make sure you’ve removed the seeds and insides of your peppers). Pop the peppers in the oven at 350 and let them bake for about 10 minutes. Pull the peppers out and set them aside. Saute the mushrooms, zucchini, and butter until the mushrooms and zucchini have cooked down a bit and have started to brown. Mix the Breadcrumbs, veggie mixture, cheese, salt, pepper, and seasoning in a bowl until well blended and then spoon the mixture into your peppers. (I then topped my peppers with a little extra feta) Then put your peppers back in the oven to bake for abother 10-15 minutes. There you have it, a super easy dinner or snack that takes no time at all to whip up! I hope you guys are enjoying your first couple weeks of spring with new delicious recipes and lots of time out of doors.

What are some of your favorite pepper recipes?

– Trish

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

