RSS Feed

Recipe: Blueberry Muffins and Strawberry Muffins

I don’t often make muffins, but when I do they are gone in a flash because I forget how much I love them. They are crazy delicious and any baked goods with fruit in them are supremely more delicious than other baked goods for some reason…on second thought it’s probably the fruit.

When I started this endeavor I was just planning to make blueberry muffins but upon finishing the recipe I had about 10 muffins, another pan that I had already greased that was muffin-less and a bunch of the crumbly topping left over so instead of being boring and making more blueberry muffins I decide to make some strawberry muffins too! I had never made them before but I figured, how hard can this be, I already made blueberry muffins for goodness sake and I had strawberries on hand.

For these recipes I used frozen blueberries and strawberries but you can totally use fresh and they’ll be super delicious too but the berries that I’ve had lately haven’t been much good so I figured I’d be better off with frozen since they are usually packed with delicious berry flavor year round, also, the only other down side to using fresh berries is that the muffins I made were pink and blue and if you use fresh you will have brown muffins with bits of colorful fruit instead of super crazy colorful fun muffins, but that’s your choice. If you’d prefer to have normal-colored boring muffins, you could do that too, I guess.

For Blueberry Muffins You’ll Need: 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, 3/4 a cup of sugar, 1/2 a teaspoon of salt, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, 1/3 a cup of vegetable oil, 1 egg, 1/3 a cup of milk, 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla, 1 cup of frozen blueberries (or maybe a little more)

For Strawberry Muffins You’ll Need: 1 3/4 cups of all purpose flour, 1/2 a cup of white sugar, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, 1/2 a teaspoon of salt, 1 egg, 1/4 a cup of vegetable oil, 1/2 a cup of milk, 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla, 1 cup of frozen strawberries (or maybe a little more)

For The Super Amazing Crumbly Topping You’ll Need: 1/2 a cup of sugar, 1/3 a cup of flour, 1/4 a cup of butter, cubed, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

For both recipes mix together all of the dry ingredients in one bowl, and then in a separate bowl whisk together the egg, milk, vanilla, and oil and slowly mix the two together. In a microwave safe coat your berries with a half tablespoon of sugar then pop them in the microwave for 45-60 seconds to thaw and create a good amount of juice. Mix your berries in to your batter and scoop the batter into a well greased muffin pan (I use an ice cream scoop for my muffins and cupcakes and it works really well to get a good uniform amount). Top your muffins with a healthy amount of crumble topping and let them bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

To make the crumble topping mix the butter, cinnamon, sugar, and flour together with a fork until the ingredients start to combine then get in there and mix more thoroughly with your hands until everything is nice and crumbly.

Enjoy! I hope you have lots of fun making muffins!

– Trish

 

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

