RSS Feed

Recipe: Chocolate Chocolate Cake

First of all let me tell you that I LOOOOOVE chocolate cake. That being said chocolate cake seems to have a tendency to be kind of dry and I’m fairly picky about my frosting so if I’m picking out a cake a lot of the time I’ll go with vanilla because it just tends to be more consistent, I have no idea why but that just seems to be my experience with things.

I made this recipe for a friend a few weeks ago and I just had to share it! This chocolate cake is crazy good! I’m not one to brag on my recipes too often because I always feel like there is room for change and improvement but on this cake I will not change a thing when making it, it’s too good! The cake is super moist and the buttercream is my all time favorite frosting. If you have some time I highly recommend whipping this up or making cupcakes from this recipe because to be honest, if you like chocolate at all, you gotta try this! I mean you don’t have to make it, but I you probably should. Just saying.

For the cake you’ll need: 1 cup of butter, 1 3/4 cups of sugar, 3 eggs, 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract, 1 1/2 cups of milk, 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, 6 tablespoons of cocoa powder, 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking soda, and 1 teaspoon of salt.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pans ( I made a 3 layer cake)

Bake in the preheated oven at 350 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool. ( I throw the layers into the freezer to set up quickly and so their ready to frost)

For the frosting: I used this chocolate buttercream recipe but added 1/2 a cup of extra powdered sugar and instead of milk I used 4 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream to make it extra delicious and creamy.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!

xo

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

2 responses »

  1. Trish, will you come live with me …

    Reply
  2. Now that looks YUMMY!!!! Let’s get together and bake something……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

