RSS Feed

Recipe: Strawberry Pie

Posted on

I’m not sure about you but pie seems like such a comforting thing. I don’t even super enjoy much in the way of fruit pie but the general idea of it is nice, simple, and just makes me feel good. When I think of pie I think of something consistent and sturdy, I think of family and love which comes for me with a lot of baking but pie just really makes it stick out in my head, maybe pie also seems southern which adds to the whole thing.

Anyway, now that I’ve gotten all sentimental about pie I’ll move on. I picked up some beautiful looking strawberries at the farmers market the other day and couldn’t wait to bake something with them. I considered making some plain old strawberry shortcake but the more I thought about it pie really seemed like the thing to do, so I made a classic baked fruit pie…but I will warn you. I didn’t make the crust from scratch, I used a boxed mix, don’t judge I also make crust from scratch I just don’t do it all the time. 

For this recipe you’ll need: 2 pints of fresh strawberries, 1 cup of white sugar, 1/2 cup of all purpose flour, I egg yolk, 1 tablespoon of butter, and a recipe or a box mix for a double pie crust.

To Make:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees

1) cut your strawberries in to fourths and place them in a medium size bowl. 2) pour the sugar and flour over the strawberries and mix until the fruit is completely coated. 3) let your strawberry mixture sit for 30 minutes. 4) while your pie filling is resting go ahead and prepare your pie crust and place the bottom half in your pie plate. 5) pour your filling in to your prepared pie plate and cover it with the rest of the crust (I used strips of crust to make a lattice top) 6) cut up the butter and dot the top of your pie 7) whisk the egg yolk and lightly brush your pie crust the sprinkle the top of the pie with a tablespoon of sugar 8) bake your pie for about 40 minutes or until it’s golden brown and bubbly. 9) serve  warm with vanilla or pistachio ice cream and enjoy!

Have you made any pie lately?

xo

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Saturday Spent: with a quick trip to the farmers market « - Evanson Three -

Leave a Reply

