RSS Feed

DIY: re-styled denim shorts

Posted on

Oh man, am I pumped about this DIY. I haven’t posted any DIY gems in awhile but I plan on making up for it right now.

Inspired by our upcoming trip to bonnaroo Lacy and I decided to dress up some festive denim shorts. I chose to add some lace detailing and patches to my shorts and Lacy went with an ultra patriotic flag theme. This DIY is super easy and you can take the general idea and make it into something completely your own with different fabric, buttons, ric-rac, and anything else you can think of!

First off, grab some denim shorts. (Lacy and I purchased ours at Forever 21 for $10.50 and $12.50) For the lace shorts I cut the fabric into my desires shapes to line the back pockets, front pocket, and coin pocket. I also cut out a square patch and a heart patch to add extra cuteness. For the American flag shorts Lacy outlined the whole front of her shorts with a flag patterned bandana.

We painted our fabric and the sections of the shorts that we wanted to embellish with all purpose tacky glue mixed with a small amount of water. For the lace you’ll want a layer on the denim and on top of the lace after you’ve smoothed it on to your shorts. (I used a blow dryer to speed up the drying process)

To attach the patches I used a small amount of glue and after it dried I sewed down the edges with gray thread. Lacy sewed on some red and gray thread to add a more homemade look to the bottom of her shorts as well.

and here is the final result:

Precious right? Right. I love my shorts and I can’t wait to show them off. If you decided to DIY some shorts of your own I’d love to see them!

xo

– Trish

About evansonthree

Hi! I'm trish

Leave a Reply

